The Wigwam Motel has become an icon of the historic Route 66, also referred to as the “Mother Road” because of its unique concept. The Rialto Wigwam was the seventh and last motel to have been built by Frank Redford in 1947. It was also the largest village, with 19 sleeping rooms. It originally featured 12 impressive teepee-shaped buildings, including the office. Eight more teepees, a barbeque, and a kidney-shaped swimming pool were later added, due to the motel’s success and popularity among Route 66 travelers. The California Wigwam Motel was the only one to provide a swimming pool to enhance the customers’ stay.
The Motel has recently gone through a total makeover, including improvements to both the buildings’ interior and exterior as well as the motel’s landscape.
Only three of the seven Wigwam Motels built still exist today – the others have been demolished.